Mark Hamill & Carrie Fisher To Receive The Disney Legends Award

Star Wars Saga alum Mark Hamill and Carrie Fisher are among the 2017 Class to be honored with The Disney Legends Award. The Disney Legends Award is celebrating its 30th anniversary this year, in 1987 the first award was given to Fred MacMurray, and has since honored 276 Disney Legends (including this year’s honorees).

Disney Chairman and CEO Bob Iger had this to say of the award:

“The Disney Legends Award is the highest honor our company can bestow on an individual, reserved for those few who have truly made an indelible mark on the history of The Walt Disney Company,” said . “It’s a celebration of talent, a recognition of achievement, and an expression of gratitude to the men and women whose work has significantly contributed to Disney’s enduring reputation for creative excellence.”

Attendees of the 2017 D23 Expo can enjoy the ceremony live. Hosted by Disney Chairman and CEO Bob Iger, the Disney Legends Award ceremony will take place at 10 a.m. on Friday, July 14, in Hall D23 during D23 Expo.

via The Walt Disney Company
via The Walt Disney Company

The complete list of honorees are as follows:

Carrie Fisher, Film *
Clyde Geronimi, Animation *
Manuel Gonzales, Animation *
Mark Hamill, Film
Wayne Jackson, Imagineering
Stan Lee, Marvel
Garry Marshall, Film *
Julie Taymor, Theatrical
Oprah Winfrey, Television

*denotes posthumously

via Disney
via Disney
Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *